November 27, 2022

Taylor Daily Press

Complete News World

Wout van Aert, Tadej Pogacar, Remco Evenepoel en Arnaud De Lie (achtergrond) kleurden het afgelopen wielerjaar.

The Year of Cycling by Numbers: Evenepoel isn’t just a winner, De Lie 3rd best one-day rider | Cycling

Yesterday we finished an animation cycling season with the Tour of Langkawi. Who was crowned victorious? What are the teams with the most victories? And who will close the year of cycling as number 1 in the world rankings? Lists overview.

Which knight has the most victories?

With his world title, Remco Evenepoel took his 15th victory in 2022, but one rider has fared even better this year. Just like last year, Tadej Pojacar won the Lombardy and is the first rider since Mark Cavendish (2008-2009) to win two years in a row.

The Belgian top season is reflected here by the presence of 3 other Belgians in the top eight: Wout van Aert, Jasper Philipsen and Neopro Arnaud De Lie The three have finally raised their hands 9 times this year.

Van Aert and Philipsen have already done it ten times, but they will want to forget about it once too often. Van Aert was gleefully beaten up by Gaudu at DauphinéAnd the Philipsen didn’t know on the tour that Van Aert was still ahead of the group.

Single victory
1. Tadej Pojakar (SVN) 16 wins
3. Fabio Jacobsen (Ned) 13
4. Olaf Koig (Ned) 12
5. Mads Pedersen (Den) 10
6. Wout van Aert 9
Jasper Philipsen 9
Arnaud de Lee 9

Which rider finished 10th in the top 10 without winning himself this year?

Which team has won the most races?

Quick Step-Alpha Vinyl has lost its team title. At the beginning of October, Quick Step and Jumbo-Visma were still in the lead, but with a massive final race the UAE team was still level with Jumbo, who claimed their 48th victory in 2022 with Christophe Laporte at Binche-Chimay- Binche.

After Laporte’s victory, Pogacar won the Tre Valle Varesine and the Tour of Lombardy and Matteo Trentin and Marc Hirschi also won the Italian Autumn races with the Giro del Veneto and Veneto Classic.

Also noteworthy: 4 Belgian teams took 8th place in the standings: Alpecin-Dekoninc (33 wins) in 5th, Lotto-Sudal (26) in 7th, Intermarche-Wante-Jubert (24) in 8th.

Team victory
1. jumbo visma 48
Emirates Team Emirates 48
3. Quick Step Alpha Vinyl 47
4. Ineos Grenadiers 39
5. Alpecin deconinc 33
6. Bora Hansgrohe 30
7. Lotto Soudal 26
8. Intermarchy and Ante Joubert 24

Which rider has ridden the largest race kilometers?

He has already earned the title of King of Escape. And this year, Thomas de Gendt (Loto Soudal) also crowned himself with the biggest mile of cannibal in the peloton.

Due to his participation in the Langkawi Tour, he just passed the Norwegian punk Alexander Kristof. At least 15,042 kilometers this year, De Gendt has ridden his bike in competition. Complete the Giro and Vuelta, among others.

The riders with the most race kilometers
1. Thomas de Gendt 15,042
2. Alexander Kristof (No) 14996
3. Danny van Poppel (Ned) 14.220
4. Adrian Petit (FRA) 14.159
5. David Simolai (ETA) 14.103
194. Remko Evenpoel 10,875
447. Tadej Pojakar (SVN) 9.210
482. Primose Roglic (SVN) 8.991
564. Wout van Aert 8.355

Who can call themselves the best racer in the world?

There was no third Tour de France victory, but Tadej Poujacar was there in 2022 from February (the last victory at the UAE Tour) to October (the victory in the Lombardy Tour).

Thanks to victories at Strade Bianche, Tirreno-Adriatico, Montréal and Lombardy, he has overtaken Wout van Aert and Remco Evenepoel in the world rankings.

Tour winner Jonas Vingegaard must be satisfied with his fourth place and his brilliant year of appearance gives Arnaud De Lie an impressive sixth place in the rankings.

Best country for cycling in 2022?

Belgium is head and shoulder above the rest in the country rankings thanks to the first year of our compatriots.

The eight Belgians with the most points (Van Arte, Evennepoel, De Lee, Philipsen, Merler, Tunes, Van Gestel and Benott) give our country a narrow lead over Spain and France. Belgium offers more points than Switzerland, and is 11th in the country’s ranking.

Noun points
1 Belgium 17901.50
2 Spain 11845.50
3 France 11774.00
4 Slovenia 9930.00
5 Holland 9485.34
6 Denmark 8876.00
7 Colombia 8076.00
8 Arrow 1 Britain 7709.50
9 Arrow 1 Australia 7701.34
10 Italia 7195.00

Who was the best runner ever?

Wout van Aert may not have won a monument this year, but he is still at the top of the list of one-day races. Van Aert owes this to the victories at the Omloop, E3 and Bretagne Classic, but also to places of honor at Paris-Roubaix, Liège-Bastogne-Liège, Hamburg Cyclassics, GP de Québec, GP de Montréal and the World Championships in Australia.

With Tadej Pogacar winning the Tour of Lombardy, Arnaud De Lie must be content with the slightest step on the podium. Remarkably, young Belgian Lotto Soudal only made it to the top ten on the World Tour in De Bains, Frankfurt and Bloe.

Arrange prices per day
1. Wout van Aert 3290 points
2. Tadej Pojakar (SVN) 2.358
3. Arnaud de Lee 2.248
4. Alexander Kristof (no) 1989
6. Matthew van der Poel (Ned) 1.717
7. Benyam Jermay (Erie) 1,693
8. Stefan Kung (Switzerland) 1,673
9. Michael Matthews (Australia) 1,653
10. Christophe Laporte (FRA) 1.488

Who was the best lap rider?

Not surprisingly, Jonas Vingegaard leads the stage race standings. With 1,000 points for the winner, for example, the round weighs heavier than a Giro or Vuelta. There the winner gets “only” 850 points.

In addition to his overall Tour victory, the Dane from Jumbo-Visma also finished second in Tirreno and Dauphiné and also collected points with his sixth place on the Basque Country Tour.

Stage race arrangement
1. Jonas Weinggaard (Religion) 2921 points
2. Tadej Pojakar (SVN) 2.733
4. Alexander Vlasov (Russian) 1,839
5. Primose Roglic (SVN) 1,577.5
6. Richard Carapaz (ECU) 1,569
7. Jay Hindley (Australia) 1,547
8. Bello Bilbao (Spa) 1.546
9. Geraint Thomas (Great Britain) 1,319
10. Thymen Arensman (Ned) 1,271
See also  Micklin trembles for a while but continues an unbeaten streak after a trip to the coast | Jupiler Pro League 2021/2022