July 23, 2024

Taylor Daily Press

Complete News World

Tim Wellens won the time trial in BK after a very exciting duel with Alec Seghart

Tim Wellens won the time trial in BK after a very exciting duel with Alec Seghart

Thursday, June 20, 2024 at 5:15 pm

Tim Wellens is Belgium’s new time trial champion. In the Belgian time trial championship in Benche, he was narrowly defeated by Alec Segaert. Rune Herregodts came in third place.

The elite men were given a 38.6km course in Binche. They did the 19.3km lap twice, which the women had completed once earlier in the day. In the absence of Remco Evenepoel and Wout van Aart, Rune Herigodts and Alec Siggart were the front runners.

Wellens records top times along the way
Among the first wave of riders, Ward Vanhoof recorded the best time. Brent Van Moer was quicker all the way, but in the end the Lotto Dstny rider had to concede nine seconds. During the next block, Van Moer’s first split time was also improved by several riders. Tim Wellens ducked underneath for a second, then Ron Herigodts settled between Wellens and Van Moer. Segaert also stayed close: he lost just over two seconds to Wellens.

Photo: Cor Foss

At the second intermediate point, midway through the time trial, Wellens extended his lead. Herregodts was now thirteen seconds behind, and Segaert limited the damage to eight seconds. So we were headed towards a three-way battle in the second part of the time trial. Wellens, Herregodts and Segaert still have a chance to win gold.

Wellins vs cigart
Wellens did not stop after that, but the matter remained exciting. While Herigodts had to give up an extra ten seconds to the UAE rider at the third intermediate point, Seghart actually came within one second. So anything can happen in the last quarter of the race.

See also  Dooku celebrates his return to Rin with a short replacement | Ligue 1 Uber Eats 2021/2022

But the situation no longer changed, as it turned out. Segaert gave everything, but finished nine seconds behind Wellens. Therefore, the latter took the Belgian tricolor. This is the first time Wellens has become Belgian time trial champion. Ten years ago he was already in second place.