Undoubtedly a lot of noise in the living rooms (Spanish). How is that Kylian Mbappe’s winning goal Wasn’t it rejected? The French Express was behind the Spanish defense, wasn’t it? True, but Eric Garcia’s aberration changes everything. And because he deliberately touched the ball, a new stage began according to the new rules. As a result, Mbappe was not offside, and then finished it perfectly.
“I think it’s a silly rule,” Mark Degres says in the studio. “If the Spanish defender didn’t hit the ball, the goal wouldn’t count. But you can’t consciously get away from it, can you? You can’t consciously let the ball pass, right? Try to clear the ball.” Degres also refers to a goal scored by Lukaku in the European Championship. A Russian defender hit the ball, so Big Room wasn’t offside and hit the mark.
The Spaniards also questioned the rule afterwards. “It was just an offside, but because Garcia deliberately wanted to play the ball, he didn’t offside anymore. It makes no sense,” said Sergio Busquets. Garcia himself also replied in disbelief. “What should I do next? Step aside and let Mbappe walk? Hopefully they will change this rule in the future, because a loss like this hurts so much.”
National team coach Luis Enrique also felt uneasy. “As far as I am concerned, it was a clear offside goal, but I prefer not to talk about things that I have no control over. However, the French goal leaves a bitter taste of the match in which we were on par with the world champions.”
Unlimited free access to Showbytes? And that can!
Sign in or create an account and never miss a thing from the stars.
“Subtly charming internet specialist. Avid writer. Friendly alcohol guru. Music ninja. Devoted social media fanatic.”