If you reset Windows 10 or 11, your data may not be completely removed from the PC, which is definitely not ideal if you are selling or giving your Windows PC to someone else. Generally, you don’t want the recipient to be able to access your data, but that’s exactly what happens.
According to Microsoft Known issue page“OneDrive files synced when the ‘Remove all’ option is selected may not be deleted when you reset the device.”
Details in Status pageWhen you try to reset a Windows device using apps that contain redistribution data folders, such as OneDrive or OneDrive for Business, files downloaded locally or synced from OneDrive may not be deleted when you select the Delete All option, the company says. Selection.”
Basically, if you have files in . format tablet They were downloaded locally, and may not be removed when you reset your PC, no matter which reset option you choose.
According to Microsoft, only files stored in the cloud will not survive. OneDrive ‘cloud only’ files that are not downloaded or opened on the device will not be affected and will not persist because the files were not downloaded or synced locally.
To prevent this issue from leaving files on your computer, you can first sign out or unmount OneDrive Reset your Windows device†
The affected versions are Windows 11, version 21H2; Windows 10, version 21H2; Windows 10, version 21H1; Windows 10 version 20H2. All currently supported versions of Windows may have this problem until Microsoft fixes it.
About the solution, Microsoft says, “We are working on a fix for an upcoming release and will provide more information as it becomes available.”
Related: How to factory reset Windows 10
“Thinker. Coffeeaholic. Award-winning gamer. Web trailblazer. Pop culture scholar. Beer guru. Food specialist.”