Google removes accounts that have not been used for more than two years. The company does this to free up storage space and thus save costs. In addition, the company wants to prevent unused accounts from being misused for identity fraud or spam, for example.
In May of this year Google has already announced a major fall cleanup, but the cleanup actually began at the beginning of this month. Users with such a ghost account have been bombarded with warning emails in recent months that their accounts will soon be deleted.
Read also: Delete your Twitter account within a minute
If you missed all the warnings, it may not be too late to save your account. Removal is carried out in stages. First, all accounts that were created will be deleted and never used again. Then all other ghost accounts will be presented step by step.
Save your account
So, do you have a Google account and haven’t used it in the last two years? Then perhaps it can still be saved. All you have to do is simply log into the account. Sending an email or watching a YouTube video is enough proof to Google that you’re still using the account.
If you do this at least once every two years, your account will remain active and you won’t have to worry about emails, photos, and YouTube videos. If you have a Google subscription, such as Google Drive or YouTube Premium, your account won’t be deleted anyway.