March 4, 2024

Taylor Daily Press

Complete News World

Mexico and USA Contenders for 2027 Women’s World Cup

Mexico and USA Contenders for 2027 Women’s World Cup

The soccer associations of Mexico and the United States have jointly applied to host the Women’s World Cup in 2027. This means the two countries will compete with the Netherlands, Germany and Belgium. Players together.

The U.S. and Mexican soccer associations presented their plans on May 19, a month before world soccer body FIFA’s deadline. The United States has previously hosted the Women’s World Cup in 1999 and 2003, while Mexico has never hosted it before. Both countries, along with Canada, are already hosting the men’s World Cup in 2026.

“This is a great opportunity for the CONCACAF region to host two World Cups in two years,” said USA Confederation President Cindy Barlow Cohn. Her Mexican colleague Yon de Luisa believes that winning the World Cup can further improve women’s football in her country.

FIFA will decide on hosting the 2027 Women’s World Cup in May 2024. South Africa and Brazil have also expressed interest in hosting the tournament.

The bids of the United States and Mexico and the trio of Belgium, the Netherlands and Germany still face competition from South Africa and Brazil. The World Cup will be held in Australia and New Zealand starting June 20 in the summer.

Source: ANP

See also  US stars 'skip' Independence Day altogether