Starting Friday, December 1, Google will begin removing accounts that have been inactive for two years. But it is easy to prevent loss of all your emails, photos and documents.
Google wants to delete a large number of accounts on Gmail. Deleted accounts also lose all content saved in Gmail, Google Docs, and Google Photos. However, the process remains limited to inactive users. This only concerns personal accounts: no school or work profiles.
Starting December 1, 2023, inactive Gmail accounts will be phased out, starting with accounts that were created but not actively used. The first reports have already been sent, and more are expected to follow. Google frequently sends alerts via the specified recovery address.
A Gmail account must be inactive for two years to be in the danger zone. However, this inactivity is limited to messages only. If you use your Google address for other Google services like YouTube, it will still be considered active.
What should I do if I want to keep my account?
If you are affected by this action and want to keep your Gmail account, all you have to do is sign in to it again. This is enough for Google to consider it active, even if you haven’t used it for two years.
“Thinker. Coffeeaholic. Award-winning gamer. Web trailblazer. Pop culture scholar. Beer guru. Food specialist.”