April 22, 2024

Taylor Daily Press

Complete News World

U.S. senators urge Pita to lift border closures with Canada

U.S. senators urge Pita to lift border closures with Canada

Four U.S. senators on Friday asked President Joe Biden to lift restrictions on Canadians traveling across the U.S. border since March 2020.

Democrat senators Jean Shaheen and Maggie Hassan of New Hampshire, John Tester of Montana and Pyton’s independent Angus King Coyd-19 have asked Canadians to be allowed to travel to the United States before October.

In a letter to border state senators, these restrictions have caused “economic and emotional stress in our communities.”

“Having a plan with a reference to when your government will be comfortable removing demarcations based on public health data will provide clarity to businesses and families along the northern border,” the senator added.

They also mentioned that Canadians can travel to the United States. “We struggle to understand the public health reasons for treating different travel patterns,” the senators wrote.

The White House did not immediately comment on Friday, but White House Corona virus response coordinator Jeff Gentes said Wednesday that “due to the delta type corona virus, we will maintain travel restrictions at this location.”

U.S. officials and travel officials say White House will extend restrictions before the September 21 deadline expires.

In August, the U.S. extended restrictions on closing its land borders with Canada and Mexico to non-essential trips such as tourism, despite Ottawa deciding to open its borders to vaccinated Americans. On August 9, Canada began allowing fully vaccinated U.S. visitors on non-essential travel.

See also  Rutte and Hoekstra to US President Biden next week

The United States has continued to extend extraordinary monthly sanctions to Canada and Mexico since March 2020, when it was mandated to control the spread of COVID-19. U.S. land border restrictions do not prevent U.S. citizens from returning home.

Separately bans most non-American citizens who have been in the UK for the past 14 days, including 26 Schengen countries in Europe without borders, Ireland, China, India, South Africa, Iran and Brazil.