November 29, 2023

Taylor Daily Press

Complete News World

Paul Onwacho beats Club Lange and Di Kitilari in the Golden Boot |  Golden Shoe

Paul Onwacho beats Club Lange and Di Kitilari in the Golden Boot | Golden Shoe

Paul Onwacho is the third Racing Genk player to win the Golden Boot. In an evening mostly dominated by Club Brugge, he was ahead of players from the blue and black teams.

Looks like it was a Club Brugge evening, because with Charles de Kettleri as the Promise of the Year (second in a row), Simon Mignolet as Goalkeeper of the Year (third in a row) and Nu Lang as Goal of the Year (his solo match against Waasland-Beveren) took home one award after another. In the minor categories of the Blue-Black team.

In the end, De Ketelaere and Lang had to compete with Paul Onuachu for the main prize. De Kettlery was emphatically positioned as the top candidate, but his comeback tour last year killed him. He looked frustrated, he took third place.

Finally, Onwacho withdrew from the first round of voting. He was one of Genk’s strongholds in the final rush to win the title (which the club won) and also won a cup with Genk. Thus, he awarded the competition’s top scorer 311 points, while Lang (223) and especially Di Kitilari (44) were far behind.

Both club players qualified in the first round of the season, but that was not enough to drive Onwacho from the throne. After Branko Strobar and Wesley Sonic, he is the third Genk player to receive the prestigious trophy.

The news shows, among other things, the Golden Boot gala

Onwacho: “My teammates helped me win this”

Ms. Onwacho: “I’m very proud of him.”

Caiman: A very nice surprise

Di Kitilari: “Onwacho is also a deserved winner”

Wullaert: “It’s probably a shame that I won it 3 times”

Martinez: “Belgian Football Celebration”

Golden Boot results 2021
1. Paul Unwacho Jenk 333 points
2. Noah Lang Club Brugge 272
3. Charles de Kettleri Club Brugge 271
4. Deniz Undev union 234
5. Junya Ito RC Genk 129
6. Hans Vanaken Club Brugge 114
7. Dante Vanzer union 98
8. Sergio Gomez Anderlecht 43
9. Lucas Nemecha Anderlecht 42
10 Tarik Tissoudali AA Gent 36
Theo Bongonda RC Genk 36

Cayman Valley, Matsu and Lukaku inhaling

For the sixth time in history, the Women’s Golden Boot was also awarded. With Tessa Wullaert, Tine De Caigny and Janice Cayman, only previous winners were eligible this time around. In the end, Cayman – to her surprise – got one point more than Wallart (see also read).

For Cayman, this is the second Golden Shoe of her career, and Phyllis Matsuo was awarded for the second time. In 2017, he was already crowned as coach of Charleroi, and now that has earned that honor at Union, the club he first led to 1A and now taking the lead in our competition.

Finally, the best Belgian player abroad was awarded a trophy for the second year in a row that was reserved for Romelu Lukaku. This owes in large part to the title he won with Inter. Lukaku received the award from Thierry Henry, the assistant of the Red Devils (see also).

The other winners

  • Public Promise: Charles de Kettleri (Club Brugge)
  • General coach: Phyllis Matsu (Union)
  • Best goalkeeper: Simon Mignolet (Club Brugge)
  • general return: Peter Agneessens (red flamingos)
  • Best Belgian Abroad: Romelu Lukaku (Inter / Chelsea)
  • general goal: Noah Lang (club) vs. Waasland-Beveren
  • Women’s Golden Boot: Janice Cayman (Lyon)
See also  Kim Huybrechts watches a World Cup stunt and defeats defending champion Wright-Alan van den Berg Darts