February 27, 2024

Taylor Daily Press

Complete News World

Tessa Wollert ties Paul van Himst: Red Flames captain's fourth Golden Boot |  Golden Shoe

Tessa Wollert ties Paul van Himst: Red Flames captain's fourth Golden Boot | Golden Shoe

Tessa Wohlart missed the Golden Boot for three years. Three years of dealing with and expressing frustrations. She said in 2022 she couldn't do more than she did, when Janice Cayman won by just one point. And there was something to be said for that – the striker's statistics were world class. Woolart stayed away in 2023 because she felt the mood was coming. Goalkeeper Nikki Evrard has won her first Golden Boot after an extraordinary European Championship.

Maybe those three “shoeless” years were a result of her overflowing trophy cabinet. Wullaert, of course, has won three Golden Boots. “I understand that the underdog wins. But that shouldn't be allowed,” she told HLN in the run-up to this edition. The winner draws in Wullaert. It is also said in her entourage that the striker would prefer to win ten consecutive Golden Shoes – winning is in her DNA.

This frank style angers her opponents. “You love her or hate her,” analyst Helen Jakes said of her former Flames teammate. But that honesty is also what makes Tessa Wohlert a role model in women's football. It gives it a sporty color – add that black edge.

But Thursday evening there was only room for gold. Wullaert won her fourth Golden Boot. She is thus equal to the legendary Paul van Himst, the men's record holder. Her smile said a lot – the unloading was great. I preferred not to talk about revenge. About pride.

“This award represents a new step for women's football, because this year we are even more equal than usual with the men's Golden Boot – and the voting process was identical in the end. This makes me proud, just like our performance with the Red Flames this year. We had exceptional performances in UEFA Nations League. I hope evenings like this will motivate young girls to play football. Wullaert, through her own organization GRLPWR, is already trying to transport a stone in the river.

See also  Loss of faith in the FIA: Lewis Hamilton's F1 future depends on investigation into exciting season finale in Abu Dhabi

No Belgian woman has performed at the highest level since Tessa Wollaert. Indispensable for red flames. Captain and fisherman. Goal Machine – The counter now stands at 77 goals in 127 international matches. She scored two goals in the Nations League against England, the vice world champions and European champions. It has transformed Fortuna Sittard, a club that did not exist until last year, to third place in the Eredivisie.

Wullaert didn't have much time to celebrate at the ceremony. The taxi was waiting for the return trip to Sittard. A training match against Leverkusen is scheduled there the following day. Woolart replaced the cup of cava with sparkling water.

Discussions are ongoing with Fortuna Sittard to extend my expiring contract. I still have big goals there. I want to get a Champions League ticket with Fortuna

Tessa Woolert

Her contract with Sittard is scheduled to expire next summer. She doesn't know yet where she will play football next. Woollaert still secretly dreams of competing in Spain, but she also listens to the wishes of her friend Mathie, who now lives near Kortrijk. “Discussions are underway with Fortuna Sittard to extend my expiring contract. I could have left in the winter, but that's not me. I still have big goals for Sittard. I want to get a ticket to the Champions League,” says Woollaert.

She also wants to continue harvesting with Red Flames. The Belgian Football Association wants to bring the 2027 Women's World Cup to Belgium. That would be with a four-time Golden Shoe as poster girl.

See also  “Real Madrid is in shock: Mbappe offers a new touch”

If it were up to Tessa Wohlart, she would have received Golden Boot number seven in 2027.

Golden shoe for women

1. Tessa Wollaert (Fortuna Sittard) Jury: 200, Audience: 54, Total: 254

2. Marie Detroyer (OHL) Jury: 117, Audience: 20, Total: 137

3. Janice Kayman (Olympique Lyonnais/Leicester City) Jury: 48, Audience: 18, Total: 66

4. Nicky Evrard (Hong Kong Illusions/Chelsea/Bergton) 43

5. Sarah Wennants (Anderlecht) 40

6. Laure Jacobs (Anderlecht) 37

Stefania Vatavo (Anderlecht) (33).

9. Laura De Neve (Anderlecht) 24

10. Justin VanHaivermaite (Reading/Everton) 21

Davinia Vanmechelen (Club Brugge) (21).

12. Tin de Caigny (Anderlecht) 15

13. Elena Dont (FC Twente) 14

14. Jasina Bloom (UDG Tenerife) 13

15. Davina Veltjens (Sassuolo) 11

16. Laura Deleuze (Anderlecht) 10

Justin Audiors (Anderlecht) 10

18. Hannah Erlings (OHL) 9

19. Cassandra Missipo (Basel/Sassuolo) 8

Jill Janssens (OHL/Hoffenheim) 8

Marie Minnaert (Anderlecht) 8

22. Valeska Importer (OHL) 7

Constance Brackman (standard) 7

24. Julie Pezmans (PSV/OL) 5

Fran Merzmann (AA Gent/Anderlecht) 5

26. Lisa Petrie (Jink) 3

27. Sid Abrahamson (Club Brugge) 2

Shari van Belle (OHL/KRC Genk) 2

Chloe Vande Velde (ADO The Hague) 2

Ella van Kerkhoven (OHL/KRC Genk) 2

31. Willy Delacao (Fortuna Sittard) 1

Amber Barrett (Standard) 1

Women's Golden Boot Honor Roll

2016: Tessa Wohlert (Wolfsburg)
2017: Janice Caiman (Montpellier)
2018: Tessa Wollert (Manchester City)
2019: Tessa Wollert (Manchester City)
2020: Tin De Caen (Anderlecht)
2021: Janice Caiman (Olympique Lyonnais)
2022: Niky Evrard (AA Gent/OH Leuven)

2023: Tessa Wollert (Fortuna Sittard)

See also  Karl and Bert after the surprise of the Brussels Cycling Classic: 'A lot of poker is played in team cars' | Cycling